William Whitehorn

William Whitehorn and his wife Elizabeth Whitehorn, nee Philips are my next set of five times great grandparents. You can see below where they are situated in my family tree:

WW Tree

William Whitehorn was born in Minstead in 1752, and was the second child born to parents William and Mary. He was baptised  at All Saints Church, Minstead on the 8th August 1752, according to the Hampshire Baptisms Transcription on http://www.findmypast.co.uk. I also double-checked this information on the Hampshire Baptism Index CD rom transcribed by the Hampshire Genealogical Society.

IMG-20160712-WA0038

All Saints Church

William married Elizabeth Philips (1747-1823) at the same village church on the 16th October 1774. They had six children together: William (1775-1826), Sarah (1777-1778), John (1779-1802), Mary (1781-1863), Sarah (1784-), and Henrietta, my four times great-grandmother (1788-1869). You can read more about Henrietta in a future blog.

William passed away in May 1808 in Minstead, and was buried, according to the Hampshire Burial Transcriptions on Find My Past, on the 21st May 1808. If you have a look on one of my previous blogs, Hunting For Ancestors, you can see that it shows a large number of grave stones for the Whitehorn family in Minstead. I will need to see where these people are situated  within the Whitehorn family tree. At the time of searching the graveyard, I was unable to locate a grave for William.

With regards to William’s wife, Elizabeth, I do not have a lot of information about her at this moment in time. I know that she married William in Minstead in 1774, but I do not have a baptism for her. I will need to take a look at the marriage record at the Hampshire Archives to see if she was from Minstead. If it states that she was from another parish in Hampshire, then I will be able to look for a baptism  under that particular parish.

According to Hampshire Burial Transcriptions on http://www.findmypast.co.uk Elizabeth died May 1823, and was buried in Minstead on the 4th May 1823. It states that she was aged 76 when she died, so that would give a rough year of birth of 1747.

Any further updates that I find for Elizabeth will be published in a future blog.

About debbielou72

I am a genealogist who has been researching for quite a few years on mine and my husband's family tree. I also carry out research professionally for other people. I am a member of the Guild of One-Name Studies studying the surname Hiscock and its variations. I am also a member of CILIP and am currently studying for Certification.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

