The Hiscock Line

The following family tree is the Hiscock line of my family, where it shows the home person as my paternal grandfather.

Family Tree

This is the main body of my paternal line, and you can see where the dark arrows appear that that particular line continues back a generation or two.  I will be writing about all of the ancestors in the Hiscock line first before moving on to the other members of the tree.

The first part of my family history is to tell you about the members from the ninth generation.

family tree 3

This line links directly from the Hiscock line. You can see where they sit into the family tree by looking at the main tree above. Initially, I would be writing about William Hiscock’s grandfather on his paternal line, but as you can see, his father doesn’t appear as William was baseborn. He was baptised using his mother’s surname, but I will tell you more about this in a future blog. I have limited information about my six times great grandparents in this part of the tree, but have been more successful in other areas.

Instead, I will be telling you about my first set of six times great grandparents, who are George Hiscock and his wife, Elizabeth. At the time of writing this book, I have a few sparse details, and I am currently in the process of researching them. All that I know at the moment is that they had a child called Hannah (my five times great-grandmother, who you can read  about in a future blog).

I know that at the time their daughter was born, in 1765, they were living in Bramshaw in the New Forest which is in Hampshire. This is all that I know about them at the moment. The next stage of my research for this elusive couple will be to visit Hampshire Archives and research the parish of Bramshaw and the surrounding areas. It could be that they didn’t come from Hampshire; in that case, I would need to see if I can find a settlement record in the Quarter Sessions. This could then tell me where they came from. An update regarding this couple will follow at a later date. We now move on to the next set of six times great grandparents.

William Whitehorn was born in 1720 in Minstead, Hampshire. Minstead is a small village in the New Forest, Hampshire and is three and a half miles north of Lyndhurst, and just over 11 miles west of Southampton.

According to Wikipedia, Minstead was listed in the Domesday Book. Before the Norman Conquest took place, it was assessed at three and a half hides (a hide is an English unit of land measurement), and was held by a man called Godric Malf. By 1086, Godric’s sons were holding half a hide, as the remaining hides had been taken into the New Forest. In the 1500s, Minstead was in the hands of the Compton family, and by the time William Whitehorn’s children were born, Henry Compton was the High Sheriff of Hampshire.

The church in Minstead is All Saints Church, and is said to date back to the 13th century, but there has been additions to the church throughout the centuries.

IMG-20160712-WA0038

All Saints Church, Minstead

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, novelist of Sherlock Holmes, is buried in the churchyard under a large tree.

William Whitehorn was baptised  on the 25th September 1720 in the village of Minstead. I was able to find his baptism on the Hampshire Baptism Index 1660-1751 CD rom, which was transcribed by the Hampshire Genealogical Society. A lot of parishes in the 18th century only stated the name of the father when the children were baptised, and in this case, the record shows William’s father as John Whitehorn. I will need to research further, at a later date, who William’s mother was.

William married a lady called Mary, although I am not sure of the date as I haven’t been able to locate a marriage record. I will need to visit Hampshire Archives, as so far, I have only been able to locate one marriage in Hampshire for a William Whitehorn and a Mary, and this was in Romsey in 1747. I will need to research this further as the first child that I have for William and Mary was a William Whitehorn born in 1750 in Minstead. I will check to see if any children were born in Romsey first, and if there were, then the next document to look for would be a settlement record.

According to the records that I have researched, William and Mary had four children: William (1750-), William (1752-1808) – my five times great-grandfather, Anne (1752-), and John (1757-). The first William would have passed away at a young age before the next William was born. This is another record that I will need to research further.

William, my six times great-grandfather, passed away on the 3rd September 1795 in Minstead at the age of 75. I was able to find his burial record on the Hampshire Burial Index, 1400-1841 CD rom, transcribed by the Hampshire Genealogical Society.

The only other six times great grandparent that I have been able to locate in this part of the family tree is Sarah Parker, and she gave birth to my five times great-grandfather, Robert Parker, out-of-wedlock in the Eling area of Hampshire. You can read more about Robert in a future blog. As you are probably aware, the name Sarah Parker is a reasonably common name, and I will need to research Sarah at the Hampshire Archives for further details.

There should be a total of 16 six times great grandparents in this section, but as you can see in the family tree, so far, I have a total of five. Once I have carried out further research, I will publish my findings in a future book.

The next blog will be to tell you about the five, five times great grand-parents in this section of the tree.

About debbielou72

I am a genealogist who has been researching for quite a few years on mine and my husband's family tree. I also carry out research professionally for other people. I am a member of the Guild of One-Name Studies studying the surname Hiscock and its variations. I am also a member of CILIP and am currently studying for Certification.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hiscock Line

  1. Sue Hiscock says:

    What alot of infomantion,thanks for shareing.

  2. Jimmy says:

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Very well written! http://www.yahoo.net

  3. Paula Bailey says:

    A lot of my ancestors came from the New Forest area.

Leave a Reply

