Hiscock One Name Study

I joined the Guild of One Name Studies a couple of months ago, after doing genealogy for a few years. I’m still at the name gathering stage where I am inputting everyone with the Hiscock surname into a database on Excel. I’m gathering the information from the FreeBMD website, and then going to other websites to fill in the gaps. The next part will be to add in the name variations into the website which are Hiscox, Hitchcock and Hiscox. This stage will probably take me some time, but should produce a huge database – I had no idea how popular my surname really is. I’ll also need to find The Hiscock name in other countries to see how and where they migrated to. Once I’ve got all that information, I’ll need to look at marriages and deaths and then start to try and put them in their own trees. When I get to that stage, I’ll then have to decide which genealogy program to use. 

I’m just about to start my own personal profile on the Guild website, and I have also just started a group on Facebook called Hiscock Genealogy Group. On my Guild page, I’ll have the origins and history of the surname amongst other information. It’s going to be one of those things that is going to take a while to bring together, but I think, is going to look great. I’m hoping that I’ll get to meet other people with the name Hiscock and it’s variants and also share information and stories. Watch this space for further updates…..

About debbielou72

I am a genealogist who has been researching for quite a few years on mine and my husband's family tree. I also carry out research professionally for other people. I am a member of the Guild of One-Name Studies studying the surname Hiscock and its variations. I am also a member of CILIP and am currently studying for Certification.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hiscock One Name Study

  1. Alex says:

    Good luck! I’d be interested to hear how you get on with it and the resources available these days as a member. I used to be a member of the GOONS with two surnames registered for a good couple of years and spent quite a while gathering details in various databases but never got even one contact out of it. Perhaps these days using sites like Facebook and WordPress might garner some further interest. Maybe I will re-register with them at some point with the three surnames I am researching these days, Pilley, Coulden (the original two I was registered with) and Sharod.

Leave a Reply

