52 Ancestors in 52 weeks Challenge

As my very first post on my new blog, I thought that I would share with you ancestor number seven from the 52 week challenge.

William David Higginson is my son’s great, great, great grandfather and he was born on 25 May 1874 in Brownhill, Ruyton in Shropshire. William was the sixth of nine children born to Richard HIgginson (1834-1899) and Ann Jones (1840). William married Rose Emma Rookley (1882-1951) in June 1902 in Newhaven, Sussex, England. They had three children: Edna Violet (1903-1983), Ivor William John (1910-1987) and Else Rose (1911-1994).

From the early 1900s, William’s occupation was a Preventive Man for HM Customs and Excise. Her Majesty’s Customs and Excise was founded in 1909 following the merger of the Board of Inland Revenue, and the Board of Customs. Customs officers were responsible for collecting duty payable on imported goods and for the prevention of smuggling. Excise officers were responsible for collecting duty on home-produced goods. I’m hoping to go to The National Archives in the next few months to see if I can find any records for William Higginson.

In the 1901 census, William was a boarder with his occupation being stated as Water Guard off HMC.The census return shows that the family he was boarding with was his future in-laws. He married Rose Emma Rookley the following June.

From online records, it would seem that William passed away in Southampton in 1960, outliving his wife by nine years.

About debbielou72

I am a genealogist who has been researching for quite a few years on mine and my husband's family tree. I also carry out research professionally for other people. I am a member of the Guild of One-Name Studies studying the surname Hiscock and its variations. I am also a member of CILIP and am currently studying for Certification.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 52 Ancestors in 52 weeks Challenge

  1. Pamela says:

    Welcome to GeneaBloggers!

    Wow, 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks- great challenge. I may take that up myself. I like how you explained a bit about the context of his occupation- always helpful for those who aren’t so into genealogy and history.

  2. Pingback: 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks Challenge | Heritage Ramblings 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks Challenge | Musings on Family History and Genealogy

Leave a Reply

